Smells of Germany

Currently I’m stationed in Germany. Wiesbaden Army Airfield. I’m gonna just say its probably the worst army post I have been too. Enough said.

Probably wondering about the title of this post. Now I want to say that Korea is funny smelling when you first get there…the kimchi, the ginsing…trash on the streets. But it wasn’t bad, just different. Germany on the other hand. At least WAAF, horrible…just straight horrible. When it rains it smells like rabbit poop and I can understand that since there are rabbits all over the place. More so than stray cats. But today was odd….so odd. At lunch time, it smelled of straight human feces. I had to cover my nose it was so bad. And it wasn’t located to one spot. The smell is gone now but I don’t know where is came from. Everything is frozen over so I have no clue what was going on.

Just another reason to not like this place.

Believe me, I have a list!

3 thoughts on “Smells of Germany

  1. Hi,
    Kris from Wisconsin here, I lived in Germany in the 70’s on the economy, Ex hubby was in the Army stationed at Harvey Barracks in Kitzingen, we actually lived in Kleinlangheim, The smells were terrible, it was a farming community and still had the houses over the barns, and some sill used oxen, Strange. There are some bright spots , you’ll have to wait till spring thou.Hope to hear from you.

    • Hi. Thanks for the comment. I’m also from Wisconsin. I grew up in Superior. Sadly though, I don’t think I will be here in the spring. I’m waiting to get out of the army and move to kansas til my husband is out of the army as well.

      That reminds me about the barns…I remember seeing one outside the gate, they had horses. Maybe the smell came from the animals. But i don’t think so, I know what manure smells like. 😛

      Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

