Happy Birth Day!!

Well I know I didn’t update with photos of the last few weeks being pregnant, but I’m not really concerned with that. I’m more excited about my newest lil family member. She came all on her own today…well sort of.

Baby Olivia

Baby Olivia

Olivia’s Birth Story

It all started at 4am. I woke up to a horribly painful contraction. It was so bad I had to get out of bed. I thought I might have to go to the bathroom so I tried, but nothing. When I tried to go back to bed, another contraction hit. I knew I wasn’t getting back to sleep any time soon. After about 2 hours of bad contractions, so bad that the only way to get through them was on my hands and knees, I told M that we needed to get to the hospital.

We arrived at about 6am. They admitted us right away because I was at 4cm and 100% effaced. Luckily I was able to get my epidural a half hour later. The contractions were getting more intense.

After the epidural, things got better. Within a couple of hours I was at 8cm. I was moving quite fast. I believe I started pushing at 11:40am. It took a while to get her to crown. At that point, she got stuck and would not progress any further, no matter how much I pushed. At that point, the doctor came in and she told me she needed to try using forceps. With that, she came out in three or four pushes. She was so purple and needed some extra assistance with breathing. Thankfully it only took a few minutes to get her going on her own. M got to cut her umbilical cord. I did tear a little which I was worried about but the doctor said it wasn’t as bad as getting an episiotomy. I’m thankful for that.

IMG_0746

Olivia Jane came into the world at 2:59pm weighing 6 lbs 14 oz and 19 inches long. Happy birthday lil girl!! Daddy and I love you very much!!

Leave a Reply

