Adventures in Homemade Baby Food….and other things.

So I decided I wanted to make food for Olivia so I’m not spending so much money on pre-made baby food. Plus, it’s a healthy alternative. I had purchased frozen green beans, peas and carrots and spinach during my last shopping trip, so I started last night. I steams the green beans and some spinach and then pureed them in the blender.

IMG_1484

IMG_1485

Then I scooped it all into the only ice cube tray I could find anywhere and popped them into the freezer for a few hours. After they were frozen, I labeled a ziplock bag and transferred all the “stars”. After that, I made the peas and carrots doing all the same steps.  I actually tried feeding her the peas and carrots today but I’m not sure if she liked them. She has had carrots and peas before but it was the processed baby food type. So I’m wondering it she wasn’t hungry or if it was the chunkier texture. I’ll try again another day.

I decided I wanted to make other options as well (before I fed her the peas and carrots) so we went out and purchased some yummy foods.

IMG_1450

I got some blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries, a mango, avocado, plums, apples, a pear, and peaches, a beet, and some kale. The broccoli is from the other day. Today I made a blueberry, pear, and apple puree.

IMG_1455

 

I simmered in a sauce pan for a few minutes and the put it in the blender and did the same step with the ice cube tray. I forgot to take a photo of that though. I hope she likes it. I’ll probably make something else tomorrow. One thing at a time for now.

 

Yesterday was a very busy day for me. Not only did I start the baby food but I also completely changed a toy storage unit that M and I purchased for cheap on a second-hand baby page on Facebook. I did not like the original colors so I decided to spray paint it colors that are better for our decor and just look pretty.

It took me a while to do this since I would work during nap times but I was able to get all the tubs painted in one day. Sadly I did this on one of the hottest days during this week. This heat is something else.

And one last photo from earlier this week. M and Olivia looking at NASA photos. 🙂

IMG_1472

 

 

Leave a Reply

