16 Months and Quilting Progress

Some crazy faces this lady makes for the camera. She likes having her picture taken though and will say CHEEEEESSSSSSSSSE!

We are also learning how to respond to the question, “how old are you?” by using her finger to make the number 1. We are almost there. 🙂

Here is a photo of Olivia exactly one year ago today. We were waiting to board our flight back home. She has changed so much!

20130401_094840

In my quilting world, things have gotten rough. I finished my main piece with Link and Zelda, this is also the very middle of the quilt. But Zelda turned out a lot bigger than Link. Trying to line up all the seams was very difficult when I attached them together and it caused a lot of puckering and ways. I didn’t like it.

I was worried that if I left as is, then it came time to quilt, it would pucker even more. So I decided to remove Zelda, cut all new squares (all the old ones can’t be salvaged), and start again. This time, I am taking the time to draw the graph on my interface so everything is even. Link doesn’t have a graph but I feel like it isn’t off too much when I add the sides and top. It does suck to have to redo such a large piece but I’d rather it be more manageable when it will be quilted.

And, I’m starting on a gift quilt for a friend. I cut everything last night (this was easy and not as stressful as the Zelda quilt) and then laid out all the colored squares to see how the colors will play together.

2014-03-31 22.16.47

I needed a visual because just trying to imagine it in my head isn’t the easiest. This is most of it….I ran out of room on my design wall. But at least I see how it will look now. All the colored squares will become the corners of white squares (so triangles in the end). I just need something else to work on when I need a break from my Zelda quilt.

Leave a Reply

