Ikea Hack

I have been wanting the Latt table set from Ikea for Livi for a while now. I thought it would be a perfect place to eat snacks at during the day. The price is also fabulous, the only problem is that Ikea is an hour away.  The other day though, I happened to notice someone was selling the set on Facebook for $5 cheaper. So I snatched it up as quick as I could. 

2014-04-06 11.14.42

 

It was a little banged up from years of use. From what I found on the label, I’m thinking v. 1999 means it was from 1999. So it has been around for a while but still going strong. Now there is nothing wrong with the original look but I wasn’t interested in the raw look. I had seen some ‘hacks’ of this table set and decided I wanted to do some updates to it. Make it personal. 🙂

So I started with a fabric I found. I love it because it reminds me of quilts. I also got some vinyl so I could easily whip messes off the chair seats.

2014-04-07 14.51.11

I did throw in a layer of quilt batting for a small amount of padding for the seats but I didn’t want too much bulkiness.

Then I painted the top with chalkboard paint so I can doodle little things for Livi and when she is older she can doodle as well. But only when she knows that she can only color there and not on other furniture.

2014-04-07 19.51.05

Then staining. This was my first time ever using stain and I have to say, it’s not as easy as it looks. I did have to sand all the pieces down first because it appears that someone decided to put a clear coat on everything at some point. Sanding wasn’t horrible though. I do like how the stain turned out. After I assembled everything, I thought that i should have just painted it all white but I think I made a good choice the first time around.

2014-04-08 13.07.21IMG_1768

I also got a piece of plexiglass to put over the chalkboard top. These way, food and other messes can be easily cleaned up as well. I had read some comments from others who did this hack and they said that food messes on chalkboard is the worse. So I wanted to just eliminate the headache first thing. And it’s a good thing I did because just this morning Liv ate at the table and managed to mush sticky stuff all over it.

Now I’m hoping to snatch up a cheap Little Tikes picnic table or similar and give that a custom makeover.

2 thoughts on “Ikea Hack

  1. I love this! I have been wanting this table for a while as well. Now that I know I can give it a makeover I want it even more! Its time to tell my husband that it is time for an IKEA field trip 🙂

    • Google Ikea Latt Table Hack and see all the different things people did. Some even add a roll of drawing paper under the table. I might still do that but not right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

