Another Makeover!

I’m at it again!! I saw some cute picnic table makeovers online, so I found a kid’s picnic table on Craigslist last night and picked it up this morning.  It’s nice little table but it was very faded and in need of some dressing up. I have never heard of the brand Henry but it said it was made in Canada. What is pretty cool about this particular table is the table can be adjusted as the child grows.

2014-04-11 12.36.08

So after I picked it up, Liv and I headed to Hancock’s Fabric and bought some more vinyl and the fabric that I would have got for her Ikea Latt table if I didn’t fall in love with the triangle print I went with.

2014-04-11 11.18.18

We also stopped at Home Depot to pick out some coordinating spray paint. As soon as we got home, I disassembled the table and hosed it down to get all the cobwebs and old dirt off of it.

2014-04-11 12.54.20

It was very warm today, hitting the 70’s. It was very nice and the pieces dried very very quickly. So I started to spray paint the white pieces. Out of a cream, green or gray color, I went with green. It turned out very nice I think.

2014-04-11 13.05.01

While I waited for that to dry, I went inside and started on the table top and seats. I started with the fabric and stapled that all around. It was very easy, even the rounded corners. I had read some other people found that a little difficult but I thought it was a breeze and turned out very  nice looking. Then I stapled the vinyl on top of the fabric to protect it from messes and weather.

Assembling everything back together was probably the hardest part. Getting the screws to line up with the holes and some of the fabric was in the way of everything fitting together. But I got it all together and can’t wait to let Liv check it out. By the time I was done, it was too hot out for Liv to play. She was already exhausted from the sun she did get. The photo doesn’t show off how it all looks together because of the sun but I like the way it looks. I hope it will withstand the snow we are supposed to get this weekend and that the vinyl doesn’t melt in the hot summer sun when that comes.

2014-04-11 15.14.47

 

Can’t wait to do more fun makeovers like this. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

